2019 FALL SEMESTER HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 8am - midnight
Friday: 8am - 10pm
Saturday: 10am - 10pm
Sunday: noon - midnight
(202) 884-1520 or (202) 884-1521
Have a research question or concern?
Call us at 202.884.1520
Email your research questions or concerns to
Monday -Thursday: 8:00 am - Midnight. Friday: 8:00 am - 10:00 pm. Saturday: 10:00 am - 10:00 pm.
Sunday: Noon - Midnight
*These hours are subject to change due to holidays and school closures.
I found a book in the catalog and it says that it is on Reserve. How can I locate it?
Click the link above to leave your honest, anonymous feedback about your experience at the Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library.
Management will review all comments.
Fatima Barnes, EDD, MPH, MSIS
Jahala Simuel, MLS, MIS
Joni Floyd, MLS, PhD
The Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library (LSHSL)
The LSHSL is a health information resource for the University's medical, dental, pharmacy, nursing, and allied health science students and faculty, and also a resource for individual patients, healthcare providers, the community, and researchers in general.
Towering on four levels of one of the most iconic buildings on campus, the library has two elevators and offers space to meet various needs of the Howard community. There are meeting and conference rooms, some of which are fully equipped to broadcast presentations and discussions that foster collaboration between internal and external stakeholders.
The library is affiliated with the Medical Library Association as well as the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL). AAHSL comprises the libraries serving the accredited U.S. and Canadian medical schools belonging to, or affiliated with the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). It includes other related libraries and organizations that lead in resolving information and knowledge management problems in the health care environment.
The library is staffed by six (6) librarians (including the Executive Director), and four (4) technical assistants. The Executive Director reports to the Provost and Chief Academic Officer of the University.
The LSHSL collection transitioned from print-based to electronic in 2014 to provide online access to high quality digital assets. Access to 3,382 electronic journals, 5,578 eBooks, and 40 fee-based databases are available on-campus and remotely. In addition, thousands of electronic journals and books are available as shared resources (with the Founders library and WRLC.) The library provides immediate and multiple routes of access to electronic resources including full-text journals, full-text books, evidence-based practice tools, indexes, and databases.
Currently, the LSHSL opens for 114 hours per week. In addition, three large rooms are made available for Health Sciences students to use after the library closes.
The LSHSL Facilities:
Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library
2016 Annual Report
Off Campus Access
1. Go to http://www.hsl.howard.edu
2. When you select a library database or find an e-journal, you will be prompted to login.
This is the same information that is used to log on to HU domain desktops.
3. Click "Sign in."
If you are denied access, call 202-884-1521 or email email@example.com