Access to McGraw-Hill textbooks, videos, case studies, review questions and more.
Access to McGraw-Hill pharmacy textbooks, videos, games, and Q&A.
Access Physiotherapy, with Anatomy and Physiology Revealed
Access to McGraw-Hill physical therapy textbooks, videos, and self-assessment.
Access to McGraw-Hill surgical textbooks, videos, and self-assessment.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality AHRQ
Various types of publications on treatments and healthcare management.
Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED)
Covers (1985-present) a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and professions allied to medicine, produced by the Health Care Information Service of the British Library.
American Academy of Ophthalmology collection
Books, Basic and Clinical Science Courses (2014 - 2019), Focal Points collection (2004 - 2019).
American College of Physicians (ACP) Journal Club
Access to 500 evidence-based clinical disease, diagnosis, and treatment recommendations for a wide variety of common conditions for point of care, clinical education, and practice.
APhA Pharmacy Library (American Pharmacists Association)
Features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, Pharmacotherapy modules, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, a variety of news sources. . Additional resources for Faculty - please contact firstname.lastname@example.org, using your howard.edu email, to get access.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination : set of 18 videos and OSCE Clinical Skills videos.
Board exam review tools for
AANP Family Nurse Practitioner and ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner How to register and use Sign in
NBDHE Dental Hygiene. How to register and use Sign in
ObGyn, CREOG AND OBGYN M-o-C Register [ use your HU or HUH email ] or sign in
Faculty members: please contact Jim Atkins at BoardVitals to register for the faculty type of access.
Brainstorm human neuroanatomical structures presented in brain sections, MRI images, photographs, and cross-reference diagrams.
How to register and use Brainstorm (3:35 min tutorial)
Setting a BEST network account is required prior to accessing Brainstorm. Use your HU email address to register.
Full text books published by Wolters Kluwer/LWW.
Browse, read and monitor key journals in your field through HU libraries. With the Browzine App you can create a bookshelf of your favorite journals for easy and fast access.
A directory of whitelisted academic journals, a directory of predatory journals, journal metrics and a set of tools to help academics prepare their manuscripts.
A dictionary of over 400,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) with the links to NLM databases and resources and to federal, state, and international agencies' resources.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (in EBSCO)
World's largest collection of Nurse and Allied Health Literature - full-text journal articles, abstracts, full text evidence-based care sheets, images, and more.
Clerkship/Clinical Rotations (in LWW Health Library)
A collection of general reference texts, books in family medicine, internal medicine, OBGYN, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery.
Clinical Collection (in EBSCO)
3000+ books in medical specialties, nursing, allied health and general practice areas.
1,000+ e-books, 600+ full-text journals, thousands of procedural videos, images, patient education materials, First Consult point-of-care reviews,drug monographs, and more. A short video tutorial
Clinical Pharmacology in the ClinicalKey collection
The most current, accurate and clinically relevant drug information.
A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Cochrane Library OVID
The Cochrane Library consists of the following databases: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews), The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), The Cochrane Methodology Register (Methodology Register).
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source : DOSS (EBSCOhost)
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source (DOSS) includes more than 255 full-text journals and cited references for nearly 125 journals, with links to the complete text of many of the original works.
Diabetes Research - CDC
CDC's Division of Diabetes Translation translates diabetes research into daily practice to understand the impact of the disease, influence health outcomes, and improve access to quality health care.
Diagnosaurus in Access Medicine
Allows you to search 1,000+ differential diagnoses by: Symptoms, Diseases, Organ System.
Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Point-of-care resource - contains reviews, calculators, ICD-9 / ICD-10 codes, references to guidelines. Free mobile app.
*DynaMed Plus cannot be accessed using the HU Secure Access SSL VPN. Logout of the HU VPN, then access DynaMed Plus from the LSHSL Database webpage, use your HU Library ID to sign-in OR sign up for remote access (use the link at the top the DynaMed main page) on a HU computer.
Preview of the new version
Evidence-based Medicine Reviews in OVID
Simultaneous search of the seven EBM reviews databases: ACP Journal Club, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Health Technology Assessment, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, National Health Service Economic Evaluation, Cochrane Methodology Register.
Exam Master Online
Large selection of self-study resources for medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, and physician assistant :
USMLE Step 1, 2, and 3
NAPLEX Certification Review
PANCE/PANRE Certification Review
NCLEX Certification Review
To use this site you must login in with your Exam Master Online credentials. First-time users can register an account on this site.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
An international organization with a mission of addressing multiple issues involving food production, food accessibility and a host of other prevalent issues around the world.
5 Minute Clinical Consult
Access to the information needed at the point of care. It is the fastest resource to obtain the most likely diagnosis, treatment, and management for thousands of diseases.
Hazardous Substances Data Bank HSDB (NIH)
A toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas.
An occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases.
A free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.
Health Technology Assessment in OVID
Brings together details on ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions). HTA is produced in collaboration with the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden.
Peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of the biomedical sciences. The Network provides access to the Archives of Dermatology, Archives of Facial Plastic Surgery, Archives of General Psychiatry, Archives of Internal Medicine, and Archives of Neurology.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database (in OVID )
Evidence-based publications (evidence summaries, recommended practices, systematic reviews, etc.) for many medical, nursing, and health science specialties.
JoVE : Journal of Visualized Experiments
Experimental techniques in a visual format with detailed text protocols + educational videos.
For off-site access, access to "Cite This" and for creating Favorites list, set an account with your HU email.
Faculty members : to get faculty-type access (to be able to embed videos in Blackboard, activate Quizzes, etc.) please contact email@example.com
How to embedd JoVE videos in BlackBoard (see the file at the bottom of the page)
Journals @ Ovid
470 full text journals published mainly by Lippincott, Williams & Wilkins.
LWW Health Library :
Books, videos, including on clinical skills, self-assessment /answers to practice problems, case studies.
National Institutes of Health's website for patients and their families - patient-education type of information on treatments, conditions, drugs and supplements. Text and videos, including videos on surgical procedures.
Reviews, descriptions, and references of psychological tests.
A suite of databases offering comprehensive drug, disease, and toxicology oriented information.
National Guideline Clearinghouse AHRQ /U.S.Dept. of Health and Human Services
Evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
National Nutrition Database - USDA
Find nutrient information on over 8,000 foods. Search by food item, group, or list to find the nutrient information for your food items.
National Rehabilitation Information Center
Library of the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (NIDILRR).
83 titles are available to the HU community (The list of the titles to is at the bottom of the page.) Please search HSL Catalog or Journals (on the main page) to access specific titles.
Provides free access to 5,000+ books and documents in life science and healthcare.
National Cancer Institute publications
The NCI collects and disseminates information on cancer detection, diagnosis, treatment, prevention, control, palliative care, and survivorship.
New England Journal of Medicine
Published by the Massachusetts Medical Society. It is among the most prestigious peer-reviewed medical journals as well as the oldest continuously published one.
NEJM Resident 360
Gives information needed for rotations and connects you with a community of fellow residents and clinical experts.
Contains radiographic, cross-sectional and gross anatomy images.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database
Contains bibliographical information and appraisals of economic evaluations in which costs as well as outcomes of treatment and care alternatives in health care are compared.
Comprehensive funding information for NIH grants and contracts. The information found in RePORTER is drawn from several extant databases–eRA databases, Medline, PubMed Central, the NIH Intramural Database, and iEdison.
Contains abstracts of thousands of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. It is designed to help occupational therapists use research evidence about occupational therapy interventions to inform their practice by quickly locating it.
Several databases, including Books@Ovid, Full Text Journals@Ovid, Allied and Complimentary Medicine, EBM Reviews (ACP Journal Club, Cochrane reviews, etc.), Joanna Briggs Institute EBP database.
Search Medline using Ovid search engine and tools.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Books on public health and epidemiology
Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 31,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
50 videos covering all major drug classes; include mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, therapeutic uses, side effects. Can be used to prepare for courcse exams and national licensing exams.
Features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX® review, a collection of 250 Active Learning Exercises, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association (full text in ScienceDirect), and a variety of news sources.
To have access to Instructor View, please create and activate your personal account (ask librarians for details.)
Searchable database to give you access to funding sources in the billions of dollars, including private, public, philanthropic, corporate, and international sources.
The leading open-access medical journal for outstanding research and commentary on the major challenges to human health worldwide. They publish articles relevant to clinicians and policymakers across a range of settings that adhere to the highest standards of methodology, ethics and reporting and address the major biological, environmental, social, and political determinants of health.
ProQuest Ebook Central (former ebrary)
84,000+ books in medicine, nursing, allied health, pharmacology, dentistry, and related subjects.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses (full text and citations.)
Full-text articles from the journals published by the American Psychological Association.
A web-based portal that features DSM-5, The American Journal of Psychiatry, and a collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing.
The world's most comprehensive database of article abstracts from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, from 700+ publishers. Contains links to full-text articles available to Howard U - click the icon in Abstract view to access full text.
PubMed for Handhelds (Conduct a PICO search here)
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
R2 Digital Library
Searchable medical, nursing and allied health books from key health science publishers.
RefWorks is available in two versions:
An online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. Sign up for an account using a device/computer connected to the HU network.
Rehabilitation Measures Database
Helps clinicians and researchers identify reliable and valid instruments used to assess patient outcomes during all phases of rehabilitation. This database provides evidence-based summaries that include concise descriptions of each instrument’s psychometric properties, instructions for administering and scoring each assessment as well as a representative bibliography with citations linked to PubMed abstracts.
An online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs. Data provided by sources like the FDA, Cerner Multum, and First Data Bank, Inc.
Full-text articles of journals, published by Sage, including research titles published on behalf of over 245 scholarly and professional societies. Articles available in full text have icon.
Sage Research Methods
Online research tool designed to help researchers and provide information and instruction on research methods in the social sciences.
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. Science.gov is governed by the interagency Science.gov Alliance.
Abstracts and fulltext (look for green and orange icons) of the journals, mainly by Elsevier.
Online version of Chemical Abstracts. Includes journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, chemical suppliers, and biomedical literature in one source.
*To access SciFinder, all users must register and create an account using a valid HU email domain at SciFinder Registration.
SLICE includes virtual slide images for histology and pathology as well as images used for the study of anatomy, microbiology, radiology, botany, veterinary science, dentistry, and more. It also includes tools that allow members to make notes and annotate on images, both independently and collaboratively.
How to use SLICE (3 min. video tutorial)
Setting a BEST network account is required prior to accessing Slice. User your HU email address to register.
Interdisciplinary citation and abstract database, includes conference proceedings. Conduct your search using keyword(s), see the tools on the left to refine the search (limit to year, author's name, subject, document type...)
Online books, full text articles from ~1500 journals, protocols published by Springer.
Statistical Insight ProQuest
Find answers fast by searching a collection growing by over 30,000 statistical tables annually. Search summaries of statistical publications for comprehensive overviews of documents. Jump to other Web sites with useful information about statistics.
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas 3D visualization and learning tool to interact and explore the systems of the human body. It includes over 4,000 medically-accurate anatomical structures covering both systemic and regional anatomy. You can isolate structures, create custom views, hear pronunciations, take quizzes and more.
How to download the app? - Information about mobile access
How to use the app? - Watch this tutorial
If "What is new" screen pops up, click the arrow in the bottom right-hand corner three times to access the Human Anatomy Atlas. OFF SITE access is temporary unavailable.
Full-text journal articles and books published mostly by Wiley (look for icon)