Skip to main content

Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library: Library Info

Library Info

Library Hours

Monday - Thursday: 8am - midnight

Friday: 8am - 10pm

Saturday: 10am - 10pm

Sunday: Noon - Midnight

Address

501 W. Street, NW

Washington, DC 20059

(202) 884-1520 or (202) 884-1521

healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu

 

ASK US!

 

Have a research question or concern?

Call us at 202.884.1520


Email your research questions or concerns to
healthscienceslibrary@howard.edu

 

Your Librarians

Dr. Fatima Barnes

Executive Director

fatima.barnes@howard.edu 

Jeremy Gunnoe, MSLIS

Assistant Director of Operations;

Medical Librarian

jeremy.gunnoe@howard.edu

Kristin Chapman, MLIS

Clinical Librarian

kristin.chapman@howard.edu  

Jahala Simuel, MLS, MIS

Medical Librarian;

Head, Access Services

jahala.simuel@howard.edu  

 

About Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library (LSHSL)

Named in honor of the venerable congressman for his thirty-year crusade combating disparities in health care, the Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library (LSHSL) is a health information resource for the University's medical, dental, pharmacy, nursing, and allied health sciences students and faculty.  The LSHSL is also equipped to serve the health information needs of individual patients, healthcare providers, the community, and researchers in general.

Spread over 80,000 square feet and towering at four levels of one of the most iconic buildings on campus, the LSHSL has two elevators and offers space to meet various needs of the Howard community. Some of the meeting rooms are fully equipped to multicast presentations and discussions that foster collaboration between internal and external stakeholders.

The Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library is a resource library for the National Networks of Libraries of Medicine of the National Library of Medicine. The library is also one of nine libraries that belong to the Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC), which supports and enhances member libraries and information services of universities in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. The WRLC enables the success of learning and scholarship by creating coordinated collections, by designing a robust infrastructure for discovery and access, and by ensuring the long-term preservation of physical and digital information resources and sharing expertise.

The library is affiliated with the Medical Library Association as well as the Association of Academic Health Sciences Libraries (AAHSL).  The AAHSL comprises the libraries serving the accredited U.S. and Canadian medical schools belonging to or affiliated with the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). It includes other related libraries and organizations that lead in resolving information and knowledge management problems in the health care environment.

Staffing

The library is staffed by four librarians (including the Executive Director) and three technical assistants. The Executive Director reports to the Provost and Chief Academic Officer of the University.

Information Resources

The LSHSL collection transitioned from print-based to electronic in 2014 to provide online access to high quality digital assets. Access to 3,382 electronic journals, 5,578 eBooks, and 40 fee-based databases are available on-campus and remotely.  WRLC shares its collections with Howard University, which makes  thousands more of e-books and journals available to LSHSL customers.  The library provides immediate and multiple routes of access to electronic resources including full-text journals, full-text books, evidence-based practice tools, indexes, and databases.

The LSHSL Facilities

          Overview

  • The library offers seating for 600, including study carrels with club chairs, throughout the LSHSL in traditional and non-traditional settings.
  • In addition to campus-wide wireless connection, power and data ports facilitate easy laptop computer use and data retrieval.
  • There are 19 group- and single-study rooms in total:  11 small study rooms each have a table and 4 chairs; 8 Problem Based Learning rooms are furnished with a table, and seats 10.  A white board is mounted in each of these rooms.

Ground Floor

  • The university seal on the floor of the LSHSL Gallery welcomes all patrons to the library. The Gallery is adorned with memorabilia of Louis Stokes and accommodates up to 75 people.
  • Equipped with a projector, portable video equipment, retractable screen, white boards, and desktop network ports for laptop computers, the Video Distance Learning Room allows students and instructors to interact with other medical universities and hospitals.
  • The networked Telemedicine Room enables health professionals to share data and discuss cases with physicians at remote sites.
  • The Harold J. Kaplan Multimedia Room is equipped with 23 computer workstations and seats 30.
  • College of Medicine’s Class of 1955 Student Lounge has six tables, seating for 24, three beverage vending machines, a microwave, and a television.

Second Floor

  • Eight Problem-Based Learning rooms are used for seminars and group study spaces. There is a total of 96 chairs and 48 tables.
  • With seating for 23, the Faculty Reading Room offers a tranquil venue for reading, writing, or relaxing.
  • The eLab has 24 computer workstations. There are whiteboards and dropdown screens and projectors in computer labs; In addition to PCs in the computer labs, 12 MAC computers are available for patrons.

Third Floor

  • The Special Collections Stacks provide a secure and controlled environment for the preservation of historical materials (rare books, artifacts, manuscripts) documenting the health sciences history of the University and Howard University Hospital.  It also serves as a repository for the intellectual contributions of African American health practitioners.
  • With built-in wood and glass cabinetry lining the walls, the Special Collections Reading Room is a pleasant space for the display and use of special collections and archival materials.

Fourth Floor

  • The Fourth Floor Reading Room accommodates 200 persons. This popular room is used for special events and also converts into a study area.  Adjacent to this space, is the intimate Dr. George Jones Conference Room with scenic views of Freedmen’s Square, where the Freedmen’s Hospital was initially established to aid in the medical treatment of former slaves in Washington, D.C. In 1868, six years after its founding, Freedmen’s Hospital became a teaching hospital for the Howard University Medical School.
     
  • Under the leadership of the Director of Academic Information Resources, the Health Science Testing Center is located on the 4th floor of the Louis Stokes Health Science Library. There are 130 work stations, study carrels, student lockers, and a monitoring system.

 

 

 

Library Forms Library Requests Feedback

Room Reservation Form (classes, events, etc.)

LSHSL Testing Center Reservation Form

LRC Testing Center Reservation Form

Note:  No more literature search requests are being accepted for the Fall 2019 semester.  This service will resume in January 2020.0

The library will be CLOSED from Sat. Dec. 14th until Thu. Jan 2nd 

Orientation, Workshop or Training Request         

New Resource Request Form 

Interlibrary Loan Request (article, book, etc.)

Report Access Problem                            

Literature Search Evaluation Form              

Instruction Evaluation Form

General Feedback

 

Dr. Fatima Barnes

Executive Director

(202) 884-1723 / fatima.barnes@howard.edu

Jeremy Gunnoe, MSLIS

Assistant Director of Operations

(202) 884-1507 / jeremy.gunnoe@howard.edu

Kristin Chapman, MLIS

Clinical Librarian

(202) 884-1526 /        kristin.chapman@howard.edu           

Jahala Simuel, MLS, MIS

Medical Librarian; Head, Access Services         

(202) 884-1508 / jahala.simuel@howard.edu                              

Yelena Suprunova

Digital Resources Librarian

(202) 884-1730 / yelena.suprunova@howard.edu

Vermille Davis

Administrative Assistant

(202) 884-1521 / vermille.davis@howard.edu

Lawrence Tucker

Access Services

(202) 884-1520 / lawrence.tucker@howard.edu

Deborah Webb

Access Services

(202) 884-1520 / dwebb@howard.edu

 

www.wrlc.org

 

The Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) was established as a non-profit corporation in 1987 to support and enhance the library and information services of universities in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. Currently, our partner universities are: 

The WRLC enables the success of learning and scholarship by creating coordinated collections, creating a robust infrastructure for discovery and access, ensuring the long-term preservation of physical and digital information resources and sharing expertise.

 

FAQ’s

Louis Stokes Health Sciences Library

Can I print at LSHSL?

     Printing is done at the iLab.

Do you have to be a Health Sciences student to enter the library?

     No. All HU and HUH students, faculty and staff and WRLC members may use the library.

Do you have to be a Health Sciences graduate student to check out a study room?

     Yes 

Who can borrow from the library?

     Only Health Sciences students, other consortium members and faculty can borrow books from the Health Sciences library

Can we bring food in the library?

     Food is only allowed in the café area on the 1st floor behind the security desk.

Can Reserve books be checked out?

     Reserve books can be checked out for 3hrs with a HU ID (or WRLC ID) but can ONLY be used in the Health Sciences Library.

Can I check out books from another library in the WRLC consortium?

     Yes, you can check out books from other WRLC consortium that Howard University is affiliated with.You can request that the book be       delivered to the Health Sciences library or you can go to that University and pick book up.

What are the library hours?

     Library hours are subject to change and will always be posted in the library, on the library’s website and on the library’s social media pages.

My library account expired what should I do?

     Call the library or come in person to see why your library account is expired.

Loading ...
Image Map