Skip to main content

Covid-19: Home

Managing the deluge of information on Covid-19

Managing the deluge of information on Covid-19

There has been an explosion of information concerning SARS-CoV-2 and its subsequent disease state COVID-19. Medical, scientific, social, and economic analysis has flowed precipitously from the information universe making it difficult to accurately determine where to look for scrupulous reporting of information.

There are two very large information channels through which the surfeit of information has been flowing. First, medical professionals from every health science discipline, bench researchers, and individuals tangentially connected to the healthcare field, have all been dispensing information through various media channels. The second, is the world of social media, where truth; fact; opinion; fiction; and speculation are often indistinguishable.

This page provides a centralized, curated, multi-disciplinal collection of actionable information resources that have been thoroughly assessed for quality and veracity. These resources are helpful in developing a wider understanding of our world in relation to the COVID-19 pandemic.  

LSHSL Resources

Free Online Resources During the COVID-19 Crisis

Many content providers have offered free access to e-content collections to help you maintain online services during the COVID-19 crisis. OCLC is actively partnering with global content providers to ensure access to these valuable resources through OCLC cataloging, discovery, and resource sharing services.

Elsevier COVID-19 Clinical Toolkit

Elsevier is committed to supporting efforts to battle this pandemic by providing open access to clinical resources and tools focused on the latest evidence-based practices for COVID-19 covering topics from symptom management to diagnosis, treatment, and ongoing wellness.

A PATIENT-CENTRIC OUTCOMES REGISTRY OF PATIENTS WITH KNOWN OR SUSPECTED NOVEL CORONAVIRUS INFECTION SARS-COV-2 (COVID-19)

Access ScienceDirect’s comprehensive COVID-19 page from hsl.howard.edu. ScienceDirect offers a streamlined overview of the most important topics for clinicians and includes the latest clinical data; patient information; care plans; and potential drug therapies. 

If you are looking for a mix of a global perspective, scholarly, and evidence-based information on COVID-19, visit SpringerLink on hsl.howard.edu.

For point-of-care information, visit LSHSL’s DynaMed Plus to access streamlined information on COVID-19 that includes epidemiology, pathogenesis, diagnosis, management, and prognosis. This resource also contains patient information guides, written in a simple language.   

Ebsco - For a limited time; Ebsco is providing open access to additional content beyond what HSL is subscribed to. This is high-quality information that will allow students and practitioners to achieve deeper levels of engagement and understanding.  

Literature Maps

If you are looking for additional evidence support for your research, visit the library’s Scopus page and explore a range of 2020 findings on Covid-19. Search “Covid-19” 

Explore the latest scholarly literature and evidence using this living literature map from The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre. The literature map has been classified by area of scientific inquiry and contains literatures amalgamated from MEDLINE and Embase, and published in 2019 or later. The literature map contains detailed information about the knowledge synthesis methodology used to compile kinds of literature and is constantly updated.

Specialized Scientific Analysis of Covid-19

COVID-19 | Live Ask-Me-Anything with Rishi Desai, MD, MPH

Osmosis

Osmosis is a medical education and knowledge portal offered by the Health Sciences Library with content from multiple health sciences disciplines and fields. https://www.osmosis.org/home/dashboard

This video is a Covid-19 question and answer session hosted by Rishi Desai, MD, MPH, the Chief Medical Officer at Osmosis, who is an Infectious Disease Physician & Former Outbreak Investigator at the Center for Disease Control (CDC). Dr. Desai answers Covid-19 questions from epidemiological, virological, bio-chemical, and physiological perspectives; he also provides insights into CDC responses to epidemiologic events.   

 

Image Map